Skip to Main Content

The site navigation utilizes arrow, enter, escape, and space bar key commands. Left and right arrows move across top level links and expand / close menus in sub levels. Up and Down arrows will open main level menus and toggle through sub tier links. Enter and space open menus and escape closes them as well. Tab will move on to the next part of the site rather than go through menu items.

News - Details

Murray Clark, Indiana Soccers Own Former President, Receives The Highly Esteemed Whistler Award

December 13th, 2021, INDIANAPOLIS – The Greater Indianapolis Progress Committee (GIPC) and Mayor Joe Hogsett are pleased to announce that Murray Clark is the recipient of the 2021 - Charles L. Whistler Award this year. The annual award recognizes individuals who, outside the regular duties of their chosen professions, have brought together the public and private sectors for civic improvement in Indianapolis. “Murray Clark has worked to create an Indianapolis where everyone cannot just survive but thrive,” said GIPC Board Chair Mary Chandler, Vice President of Corporate Responsibility at Cummins and CEO of The Cummins Foundation. “Murray’s work reflects a deep understanding of the power of public-private partnerships to bring about real and lasting impact,” continues Chandler. “He is a fitting recipient of an award named for his former law partner. GIPC is delighted to honor Murray with the Whistler Award.” “For nearly four decades, the Whistler Award has given us a way to recognize influential civic minds in Indianapolis,” said Mayor Joe Hogsett. “Murray will make great additions to the venerable list of past awardees. For years, he has worked tirelessly in the public and private realms to help Indianapolis become a city that serves all and where anyone can prosper.” “Murray was instrumental in the re-structure and guidance of the Indiana Soccer Association. His leadership has allowed the organization to thrive over the past decade. His contributions to the 100s of thousands of Indiana Soccer players is and continues to be immeasurable” stated Dave Guthrie, the current Executive Director of Indiana Soccer. Murray Clark, government and regulatory affairs partner at Faegre Drinker and former Indiana State Senator is a proud, lifelong Indiana resident who has committed his time, wisdom, and experience to the success of the City of Indianapolis. In the Indiana State Senate, Murray was active in a wide range of issues and recognized repeatedly as an outstanding legislator. In his private practice, he provides strategic legal and governmental affairs council to help clients achieve their goals. In addition to his career, Murray is an extraordinary philanthropic leader, serving on the Riley Foundation, Indianapolis  Foundation, Central Indiana Community Foundation, and the Hundred Club. He is also known for his leadership in the sports community, having served as the president of the Indiana Soccer Association, Indy Eleven Foundation, and College Football Playoff Championships Indy Host Committee. Mayor Joe Hogsett presented the award at a breakfast ceremony on Thursday, December 2, 2021, at Ivy Tech Community College Culinary & Conference Center. This year’s Title Sponsor is Faegre Drinker. About the Charles L. Whistler Award: Charles L. Whistler understood working for the future. To ensure Whistler’s legacy lives on, GIPC instituted the Charles L. Whistler Award—the most prestigious award given annually to a community volunteer. The Charles L. Whistler Award continues to honor the legacy of Whistler, a lawyer and community leader in the grand tradition, who gave his time and extraordinary abilities to the Indianapolis community without asking for power or position in return. At the time of his death in 1981, he was a senior partner at Faegre Baker Daniels and chair of both GIPC’s Urban Growth and Revitalization Task Force and the White River State Park Citizen’s Advisory Committee. Clark’s name will be added to a limestone and granite monument containing past award recipients’ names and located in the Charles L. Whistler Memorial Plaza at the City Market in downtown Indianapolis.


Past Whistler Award Recipients: 1983: Thomas H. Lake 1984: Thomas W. Binford & David R. Frick 1985: Frank P. Lloyd 1986: Phillip R. Duke & Thomas W. Moses 1987: Mattie M. Coney 1988: Donald W. Tanselle 1989: Ramon L. Humke & Henry C. Ryder 1990: Richard O. Morris 1991: Eldon Campbell 1992: Michael A. Carroll 1993: William W. Mays & James T. Morris 1994: Fred C. Tucker, Jr. 1995: Robert H. Reynolds 1996: Thomas M. Miller & Sam H. Jones 1997: Dr. Gene Sease 1998: Jack Shaw & Dan & Lori Efroymson 1999: Andrew Paine & Yvonne Shaheen 2000: Rev. T. Garrott Benjamin & Michael Maurer 2001: Jerry Semler & Fay Williams 2003: Alex Carroll & Rev. Charles Williams 2004: Dr. Beurt Servaas & Gerald Bepko 2005: Joseph D. Barnette, Jr. & G. Frederick Glass 2007: P.E. MacAllister & Marge Tarplee 2008: Patrick J. Early 2009: John T. Neighbours & Sallie W. Rowland 2010: Michael G. Browning 2011: Samuel L. Odle 2012: David Shane 2013: John M. Mutz 2014: Martha Lamkin 2015: Thomas A. King 2016: Sarah & John Lechleiter 2017: Andre B. Lacy 2018: Marianne Glick 2019: Bill Shrewsberry 2020: Milton O Thompson 2021: Murray Clark